End of Several Narrow Gauge Trains in India

These days no one asks for narrow gauge (नैरोगेज) train but still it supports thousand of people in travelling everyday. It is still main source of transport for many rural area people in these era of Metro and Bullet Trains. Indian Railways is trying to change narrow gauge rail tracks into broad gauge rail track. As a result, More than 100 years old narrow gauge train route is going to be closed forever. Now you wont be able to see trains Neinpur, Balaghat, Jabalpur, etc places nor you would see any train guard opening the doors.
October 1, 2015  is the sad day but it is the reconstruction time of Indian Railways and thus narrow gauge train line would end forever which was started in British Empire.
From Jabalpur to Neinpur which is around 110 Km route, Nagpur to Chindwada which is 147 Km, Chindwada to Balaghat which is around 217 Km route etc routes are under reconstruction from years.

Auction for Narrow Gauge Tracks and Bridges

Since the train is stopped on this route, tracks would be uprooted and auction would be held for it and also some watch mans would be kept to keep eyes on the tracks.

Neinpur Junction is since British Rule and thus it hold heritage value. From here British Army were provided armaments. It is the biggest junction where narrow gauge trains stops. Here on 4 platforms  around 30 trains comes. It would be converted into Broad Gauge and it would be one smaller station of India and its history would be just scribe on paper and forgotten after years.

Trains Which Ended on 1st October, 2015

  1.  Nagpur – Jabalpur (58839)
  2. Balaghat – Jabalpur (58863, 58867, 58869, 58864, 58864)
  3. Jabalpur – Balaghat (58866, 58876, 58840, 58873, 58866, 58876, 58840, 58874, 58868, 58870)
  4. Jabalpur – Neinpur (58868, 58868)
  5. Jabalpur – Nagpur (58870, 58870)
  6. Balaghat – Neinpur (58871)
  7. Neinpur –  Balaghat (58858)
  8. Mandala Fort – Balaghat (58864)

Train Which would end on 1st November

  1. Chindwada – Neinpur (58849,58851,58853,58855)
  2. Nagpur – Jabalpur (58839, 58835,)
  3. Jabalpur – Nagpur (58840)
  4. Neinpur – Chindwada (58850,58852,58854,58856)
  5. Neinpur – Mandala Fort (58859,58861,58862)
  6. Nagpur – Chindwada (58831, 58833, 58832, 58835, 58837)
  7. Chindwada – Nagpur (58832, 58838, 58836, 58834)
  8. Ramkona – Nagpur (58842)
  9. Mandala Fort – Neinpur (58858, 58860)
  10. Mandala Fort – Balaghat (58858)
  11. Nagpur – Ramkona (58841)

We would update related train schedule on our PNR Status and train related website.


Indian Railway IRCTC

Railway sources are hopeful that this train will reduce some load on Konkan Kanya express, which is one of the most popular trains on this route.

Indian Railway IRCTC

According to the Railways, the idea came to minister Suresh Prabhu when a passenger, Avtar Krishen Kher, sent back a cheque in the name of IRCTC for the differential amount of the actual fare and the subsidy, which was around Rs 950 for his trip


there are some terms which  are used inside the status while checking PNR and  such terms confuses the persons who are checking PNR status on irctc sites.

IRCTC others

Youth from the state will travel to happening places (Education-wise) such as Hyderabad and Bengaluru to explore opportunities”, said IRCTC group general manager, East Zone, Debashis Chandra in a media interaction at an event in Kolkata

More Posts